Mixtape for Mom

UKE BOX 130 – Mixtape for Mom

(original broadcast date: May 18, 2016)

“Hi Mom, I’ve never made a mixtape for you. Mother’s Day came up recently but I did not get a chance to send you what I wanted to send you. I thought I would make you mixtape today while broadcasting it live for radio instead…”


1. In My Life by Bette Middler with Jake Shimabukuro
2. Ukulele Lady by Bette Middler
3. Frank Sinatra — You Make Me Feel So Young by Matt Argo
4. That’ll Be the Day by Doug Fink
5. Petula Clark — Downtown (my ukulele interpretation) by lagaringer
6. Puttin On the Ritz by Ralph Shaw from King of the Ukulele
7. Something (live) by Eric Clapton and Paul McCartney from Concert for George
8. I’ll See You in My Dreams by Joe Brown from Concert for George
9. George Harrison Medley (Here Comes the Sun / Within Without You / Taxman) by John Kane from The Ukulele
10. MacArthur Park by The Ukulele Orchestra of Great Britain from The Secret of Life
11. Frank Sinatra — Fly Me to the Moon by Aldrine (Ukulele Underground)
12. Come Fly With Me (ukulele cover) by Austin Cole
13. I Dreamed a Dream by Uytae
14. Strumming Your Blues Away (Recorded 1927) by Johnny Marvin from Edison 1920’s Jazz Vocals with Ukulele (Recorded 1925-1927)
15. Yusuf Islam — Peace Train with The Ukulele Orchestra of Great Britain
16. While My Guitar Gently Weeps by Jake Shimabukuro from Walking Down Rainhill
17. In My Life by Cynthia Lennon with The Beatles Complete on Ukulele in their version of Rubber Soul
18. Misirlou (ukulele cover) by Al Wood

UKE BOX is the all ukulele radio show on Trent Radio 92.7FM in Peterborough, Ontario, Canada with your host Lester Alfonso. It’s recorded live every Wednesday at 5pm.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *